4/22/17 (pretty)

i wrote while feeling pretty
no matter what I do, I feel sleepy
but my eyes can never close
wide-open watching the world
that is gentler on the beautiful
but i gotta love the mess,
yes, i love the mess.

i wrote while feeling pretty,
this is fine, the perfume of the city
with millions of beautiful girls –disappearing suddenly;
the hum of the walls arrested me
i shut my eyes as bravado suck on my lips
i understand the bad girls –gotta love the mess.

i wrote while feeling pretty,
wide-eyed, sad, little girl (made interesting in Facebook)
made up of skin and the galaxies
and they gotta save their horses and castles
for my armada assaulted oceans with eyes sweaty,
lamp shade a little hurt, yet all screaming glory
pills after pills –gotta love the mess.

collage by: Rocio Montoya

Leave a Reply

